Florida Authorized
Permit Test Online

Don't Wait in Line. Take
Your Class E Exam Online.

Sign Up
State of Florida Authorized.
Smart Price$29.99

The Florida Class E Knowledge Exam is the official State of Florida written exam designed to test the knowledge of those wishing to obtain a Florida driver’s license. This exam fulfills one of the requirements needed to obtain your learner's permit or driver's license in Florida. In addition to the permit written exam, you must also pass the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.

Taking your Permit Exam online offers many benefits. For starters, it can be taken from anywhere with an internet connection at any time, allowing you to fit it into your schedule. Furthermore, the online exam format makes it easier for potential drivers to study and prepare for the exam and reduces the stress of taking the exam in person. Also, the exam is available in multiple languages, including Arabic, Chinese, English, Haitian, Russian, and Spanish, allowing individuals who prefer to take the test in their native language the ability to do so. However, taking the exam online is only available for new drivers under 18. Older drivers will need to take the test in person per Florida requirements.

The Florida Written Class E Knowledge Exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions covering traffic laws, road signs, safety rules, and driver responsibility. According to the State of Florida rules, you will have 60 minutes to complete the exam with a passing score of 80% or greater. In addition, you will have only one attempt to pass the exam. You can take the exam up to 3 times online, but additional fees will apply for each extra exam. If you can't pass after the 3rd attempt, you must take the exam in person.

Once you successfully pass the written knowledge exam, your results are instantly reported to the State of Florida and available at all Florida driver's license office locations. Also, we'll send you instructions on the next steps needed to pick up your driving permit.

Obtaining a driver's license may seem daunting at first, but it is pretty simple once broken down into individual steps. With some preparation and careful attention to detail, you should have no trouble earning your license.

The most important thing to remember when obtaining a driver's license is that safety comes first. Therefore, always wear your seat belt and drive with caution, following all the rules of the road. Doing so will help ensure that you remain safe while behind the wheel.

$29.99
  • Online Exam
  • Duration1 hour
  • Final Exam50 questions
  • LanguageArabic
    Chinese
    English
    Haitian
    Russian
    Spanish

Share this exam:

We've Helped Over 77,538 Drivers!
Complete Within 1 Hour
Study Materials Included
No Hidden Fees
FREE Certificate Download
Instant Reporting to Florida

Florida Class E Online Exam

We Are an Authorized Third Party Administrator for the State.
FREE Downloadable Certificate.
50 FREE Practice Test Questions.
Take the Exam at Home — Less Stress.
Get Your Results Immediately.
Instant Electronic Reporting to the State of Florida.
Florida Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education TLSAE and License Permint Exam online course
Florida TLSAE + Class E Knowledge Exam
Sign up for this COMBO if you:
Want to get your learner's permit.
Are a first-time driver in Florida.
Are under the age of 18 (adults must take the exam in person per Florida law).
The TLSAE course and Permit Exam are both required to obtain your driver's permit.
5 hours 5 units + exam
$45.99 $74.98
4.9
Sign up
Florida Drug Alcohol Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education TLSAE online course
Florida Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education
Take this course if you:
Want to get your learner's permit.
Are a first-time driver in Florida (any age).
Need to reinstate your driver's license and received a notice of suspension for an under-age 21 DUI (Zero Tolerance).
4 hours 5 units
$24.99 $34.99
4.9
Sign up
Florida Class E Knowledge Exam Permit Test online
Florida Class E Knowledge Exam
Take this exam if you:
Want to get your learner's permit.
Are a first-time driver in Florida.
Are under the age of 18 (adults must take the exam in person per Florida law).
1 hour 50 questions
$29.99 $39.99
4.9
Sign up

Over 26 Years of Experience

How Does the Class E Knowledge Exam Work Work?

Florida Class E Knowledge Exam Online Experience Teacher
1
Sign Up
Just fill out our Express Checkout registration and to get started with your exam.
2
Study
Use the FREE study materials included to help prepare for your exam. Extra study material upgrades are available.
3
Get Your Certificate
Fill out your personal information to get credit. Then, pass your final exam.
3
Leave the Rest to Us!
We'll send your Certificate of Completion to Florida electronically — FREE same-day reporting!
Have Additional Questions? We're Here to Help!

Florida License Guide

Learner's Permit
Teens
At least 15 years old
Pass the Drug & Alcohol Course

Every first time driver must pass the TLSAE Course.

Pass the Permit Test

This is know officially as the written Class E Knowledge Exam.

It would be best to study the Official Florida Driving Handbook before attempting the Class E Knowledge Exam. The TLSAE course alone is not enough to pass your Florida Permit Test.

Also, we offer 50 free questions with your enrollment to help you prepare.

Signed Parental Consent Form

You must present a signed/notarized Parental Consent Form to the agent when picking up your learner's permit.

Apply For Your Learner's License

Must be 15 years old.

Pass a Vision and Hearing Test

These tests are conducted in at your local driver's license service center. Search for the closest office by visiting the locator on the State of Florida website.

Proof of Identity

You must provide documents to prove your identity when picking up your license. Visit Florida's What To Bring link for a list of acceptable forms of identity.

You can also find information regarding the REAL ID requirements on the State of Florida website.

Graduated License
Teens
At least 16 years old
Hold a Learner's Permit for one year OR reach age 18

You must complete all Learner's Permit requirements.

Pass the Driving Skills Test

Pass the Class E Driving Skills Test. Visit the State of Florida website for information on how to take the Driving Skills Test. We do not offer this service.

Parent-Supervised In-Car Training

A parent or legal guardian must complete the Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form. They must certify that the driver has at least 50 hours of driving experience, including ten hours of night driving.

You can download a Practice Log Sheet to track and show proof to the agent when you get your license.

Driver's License
Adults
18 years old & over
Pass the Drug & Alcohol Course

You must take and pass the TLSAE Course online.

Pass the Permit Test

Pass the Class E Knowledge Exam in person at a local service center, driver's license exam provider, or authorized third party administrator. You cannot take it online per Florida rules. Only drivers under 18 years old may take the permit test online with parent supervision.

Pass the Driving Skills Test

Pass the Class E Driving Skills Test. Click here for test options.

Get Your Driver's License

You must provide documents to prove your identity when picking up your license. Visit Florida's What To Bring link for a list of acceptable forms of identity.

You can also find information regarding the REAL ID requirements on the State of Florida website.

FAQ's

Popular Florida Class E Knowledge Exam Questions

Does the State of Florida authorize your Class E Knowledge Exam?

Our online Florida Permit Test is the official State of Florida Learner's Permit Test.

Highway Traffic School is an approved third party administrators. We are listed on the official State of Florida website.

Do I need to get a Learner's License in Florida?

If you are under 18, Florida requires you to get a Learner's License. You must have your Learner's License for one year or until age 18 before you can get your unrestricted driver's license. Also, you cannot get any tickets while having your Learner's License.

What must I do to get my Learner's License in Florida?

Check out our Florida License Guide for more detailed information.

Can I take the Permit Exam without taking the TLSAE course?

Yes, if you have already taken the TLSAE (Drug & Alcohol) course somewhere else, you can choose to register for only the Class E Written Knowledge Exam (the official written test for your permit).

However, the TLSAE course and the Class E Knowledge Exam are required to get your Learner's License.

Is there anyone who cannot take the Permit Exam online?

If either of the following applies to you, you must take the Permit Exam in person at a local Florida service center, with a driver's license exam provider, or through an authorized third party administrator. You will not be able to register or start a test if you:

  • Are 18 years old or older. In this case, you do not qualify to take the Florida permit exam online. Only drivers who are under the age of 18 may take the written exam online per Florida law.
  • Have taken the exam three times online and have not been able to pass successfully. After the third attempt, you must take the written test in person.
  • Have already passed the exam online. Even if your exam has expired and you need to retake it, you cannot do it online.
Do I need to do any other studying before taking the Class E Knowledge Exam?

Yes, you need to study the Florida driver's handbook. To pass the official Florida written exam, you must read and understand the Florida Driver's License Handbook. All of the answers to the test questions are in that publication. The Drug & Alcohol Course (TLSAE) does not cover all the information you need to pass the written test.

We will provide a link to the newest Florida Driver's Handbook and 50 FREE practice questions to help you prepare for the exam. Other study materials, like more practice questions and road signs flashcards, are available for a small upgrade fee.

How old must I be to take the official Florida Permit test?

You can take our official State of Florida written test as long as you are 14 years and 6 months of age. Note: Although you may be able to take the written test in preparation to apply for your Learner's Permit as young as 14 years and 6 months, you will not be able to apply for a Learner's Permit until you are 15.

If you are 18 or older and have never obtained a driver's license, you must take the written permit test at a Florida service center location, with a driver's license exam provider, or an authorized third party administrator. Unfortunately, applicants over 18 do not qualify for the online Class E Knowledge Exam per Florida rules.

What happens if I can't pass the Permit Test?

The Florida First-Time Driver's Written Exam is a 50-question multiple-choice exam. You must score an 80% or higher to pass. You cannot get more than ten questions wrong to get a passing score. Per Florida law, you will be allowed 60 minutes (1 hour) to complete the written exam online. Once the exam has been started, you will not be allowed to pause or stop the exam. Any questions not answered after the 60 minutes have expired will be marked as incorrect.

If you cannot pass the Permit Test on the first try, you will have two more opportunities to take the test. If you cannot pass the exam after your 3rd attempt, you must take the Permit Test in person at a Florida service center location, with a driver's license exam provider, or an authorized third party administrator.

Note: You must register and pay separate fees for each test attempt.

I passed my Florida Permit Exam. What do I do next?

Once you pass your Learner's Permit Test, you must go to a Florida driver's license office to get your Learner's License or driver's license. Take the following items with you:

  • Proof of Identification — such as your birth certificate or United States Passport. If you do not have your original birth certificate (a copy is unacceptable), you may bring a certified copy of your birth certificate issued by the state where you were born.
  • Proof of Social Security Number — bring your original social security card or W-2 showing your social security number.
  • Proof of Residential Address — such as your home utility bill, cable bill, home telephone bill, etc.
  • Parent/Guardian Online Test Proctoring Form — Since you completed the Class E Knowledge test online, this form must be completed and signed in the presence of a driver's license examiner or notarized if the parent or guardian will not be present.
  • Parental Consent Form — If you are under 18 and unmarried, one parent or legal guardian must sign your license application. Step-parents may not sign unless they have legally adopted you. This form must be completed and signed in the presence of a driver's license examiner or notarized if the parent or guardian will not be present.
There is a mistake printed on my certificate of completion. Can you fix it?

Yes, we can make updates to your certificate. However, registering with the correct information is essential. Double-check that your birthday, social security number, and legal name is spelled correctly. Your legal name must exactly match the documents you use to prove your identity when you pick up your driving permit.

Before you start the permit exam, you will be prompted to double-check your personal information. This will be the last opportunity to update your personal information and verify it is correct before we send it to the State of Florida. If the information is submitted incorrectly, you must contact us to have it corrected. Corrections can take 15 minutes or up to 24 hours since the corrections must be made manually by an agent after requesting the changes.

NEW LOW PRICE
$29.99
No Hidden Fees

INCLUDED:

Secure Express Checkout
50 FREE Practice Questions
Official Class E Knowledge Exam
FREE Downloadable Certificate
Immediate Reporting to Florida
Take Your Class E Exam Online!
State of FL Authorized
Secure Website
Exam Details
Study Material Included
Official 50-Question Exam
1 Hour to Complete
80% or Greater Required to Pass
1 Attempt per Purchase