Texas Approved
Online Defensive Driving

Dismiss Your Ticket and
Dismiss the Points.

Sign Up
Accepted by all Texas courts.
Smart Price$25.00
Guarranteed to Pass!!!

The Texas Defensive Driving course, also known as the Texas Driving Safety course, is a state-approved program designed to help motorists improve their driving skills, knowledge of traffic laws, and overall safety on the road. Upon completing this course, you will receive a certificate of completion that may be used for insurance discounts or traffic ticket dismissals through the court. This Texas Defensive Driving course is perfect for keeping your driver's license in good standing, avoiding points to your driving record, and preventing your insurance rates from increasing.

Highway Traffic School's online course is a convenient and affordable way to take your Texas Defensive Driving course. With self-paced learning, you'll be free to complete this requirement on your schedule in an interactive environment that gives you access 24 hours per day, seven days a week!

The Texas Defensive Driving course is required by state law to have six hours of instruction and covers a range of topics, including defensive driving techniques, traffic laws, and safe driving practices. The course is designed to help you improve your skills and knowledge and reduce your risk of being involved in a crash. Our course is only ten short units:

  • The Traffic Safety Problem
  • Factors Influencing Driver Performance
  • Traffic Laws & Procedures
  • Special Skills for Difficult Driving Environments
  • Physical Forces that Influence Driver Control
  • Perceptual Skills Needed for Driving
  • Defensive Driving Strategies
  • Driving Emergencies
  • Occupant Restraints & Protective Equipment
  • Alcohol & Traffic Safety

We guarantee that you will pass your course for credit. We designed our course to be interactive, with short quizzes after each unit. This allows students to retain the information better. You may take the quizzes unlimited times until you answer correctly.

Overall, the Texas Driving Safety course is an invaluable tool for new and experienced drivers. This program provides important information on how to be a safer, more responsible driver while on the roads. With its convenient online format, you can take advantage of this opportunity to become a better driver and reduce the risk of an accident. As a result, you can enjoy greater peace of mind and safer driving for years to come. And if you ever need help, we're always available by phone or email!

$25.00
  • Online Course
  • Duration6 hours
  • Units10
  • Unit Quizzes2 questions
  • No Final Exam
  • LanguageEnglish

Share this course:

We've Helped Over 74,263 Drivers!
Fastest Course Allowed by Law — Only 6 Hours
Finish Your Online Course Today
No Hidden Fees
Instant Certificate Processing
FREE Certificate Download

Texas Driving Safety Online Course

We Are Approved by the State. View Our TX TDLR License.
Only 10 Short Units - SIGN IN & OUT.
Guaranteed to Pass - Unlimited FREE Retakes!
Audio Course Available.
FREE Instant Downloadable Certificate.
Points Will Not Be Added to Your License.
Texas Defensive Driving online course
Texas Defensive Driving
Take this course if:
You received a traffic ticket and want to dismiss/avoid points on your driving record.
You have received notice from the Texas court that you are eligible to take a defensive driving course to dismiss your ticket.
You have not taken a Texas Defensive Driving course in the past 12 months.
6 hours 10 units
$25.00 $39.99
4.9
Sign Up

Over 26 Years of Experience

How Does Texas Defensive Driving Work?

Texas Defensive Driving Safety Online Experience Teacher
1
Make Sure You're Eligible
The Texas court will notify you if you are eligible to attend Texas Defensive Driving to dismiss your ticket.
2
Sign Up
Just fill out our Express Checkout registration and take your course.
3
Get Your Certificate
Pass each 2-question unit quiz. Then, fill out your ticket information to get credit.
4
Give Your Certificate to the Court
You'll need to print and sign your certificate. Then show it to the court to dismiss your ticket.
Have Additional Questions? We're Here to Help!

Student Testimonials

Feedback From Our Students

Jessica Maravilla

This user only left a rating.

Jessica Maravilla
a day ago
sohrab oskouee

This user only left a rating.

sohrab oskouee
a day ago
Kevin Rivera

This user only left a rating.

Kevin Rivera
a day ago
Yenisleydis flores

This user only left a rating.

Yenisleydis flores
a day ago
Teresa Bassett

This user only left a rating.

Teresa Bassett
a day ago
SH Jang

This user only left a rating.

SH Jang
3 days ago
Kathy Starr

The laws are explained in easy-to-understand language.

Kathy Starr
4 days ago
Mayelin Gonzalez

This user only left a rating.

Mayelin Gonzalez
4 days ago
watgolf288

This is my first time taking an online Defensive Driving Course. It was easy to understand, was thorough, and I now feel up to date on things that have changed since I first became a drive. I would highly recommend Highway Traffic School.

watgolf288
4 days ago
Dory Edwards

Had to do traffic school and this program was super easy. I paid the $9.99 for the video add-on and it's the best $10 I've spend in a while. I can't recommend that option highly enough. Instead of reading each section and waiting for the timer to run out I cast my laptop it to my TV with an HDMI cable and had it on in the background like I was binge-watching a TV show. So humane!

Dory Edwards
7 days ago
Tyler Ry Maimone

An amazing way to learn the Traffic Rules And Alcohol Abuse Course you need to get a learners drivers license, they have options, to learn through video, and make the information more digestible. You can also learn on your own pace its about 4 hours if learning. After you have to take a exam with 40 questions about the course and its free and has unlimited tries. They also send the certificate immediately to your designated DMV.

Tyler Ry Maimone
7 days ago
Kevin Z

Very happy with overall experience!

Kevin Z
8 days ago
Patricia Bonnifield

I have a lead foot and got a ticket for speeding. I have been driving since the age of 11 and this is my first ticket at the age of almost 82. Although this driving school was expensive, it wasn't as expensive as the ticket. It was easy to take in the convenience of my home, at my leisure. No court appearance! After graduating the course all documents are sent to the court. This shouldn't affect my insurance and I believe won't show up on my record. I learned my lesson. Do the speed limit or just under. I hate going slow but this is life.

Patricia Bonnifield
8 days ago
Sheila Louis

This user only left a rating.

Sheila Louis
9 days ago
Eileen Canfield

This user only left a rating.

Eileen Canfield
9 days ago
Odette Zaya

Easy to use would recommend 👌

Odette Zaya
10 days ago
Dennis Hodge

Very easy to go through. was able to start and stop as needed.

Dennis Hodge
11 days ago
Rico West

This user only left a rating.

Rico West
12 days ago
Randy Flake

This user only left a rating.

Randy Flake
12 days ago
Jarrod Hulgan

This school is very good. The website its easy to manage. Lots of the material is common sense, but I actually learned some things

Jarrod Hulgan
13 days ago

FAQ's

Popular Texas Defensive Driving Questions

General Information & Eligibility

Do all courts in Texas accept your course?

Yes. We are certified and licensed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation to offer our course in all Texas courts for ticket dismissal. Our course can also be used for insurance discounts.

You may check our certification by visiting the Texas TDLR website.

See a copy of our Texas License # CP994.

How do I know if I am eligible to attend Texas Defensive Driving?

In Texas, you can attend traffic school for ticket dismissal if you have not attended a defensive driving course for a violation in the past 12 months. Remember that eligibility is based on the violation date of the ticket, not court extensions or when you completed the last course.

You are NOT eligible to attend a driving safety course if:

  • You have a commercial driver's license.
  • You received a ticket in a construction zone.
  • Your speeding ticket exceeds 25 MPH over the posted speed limit.
  • You do not have car insurance at the time of the ticket.
  • You left the scene of an accident — hit and run.
  • You received a passing school bus violation.

When you pay your fine at the court assigned to your case, ask if you are eligible for traffic school. If you are approved, the court will let you know. Make sure to request traffic school when you speak with the court, as this is typically not something that can be added later. In addition, by taking a defensive driving course, you can keep your driving record clean and avoid potential increases in your insurance rates. So, if you're eligible, it's worth taking advantage of this option.

IMPORTANT: Not obtaining permission to attend a defensive driving course beforehand may result in the court rejecting your traffic school completion.

Is the Highway Traffic School Website secure?

Highway Traffic School uses state-of-the-art security technology to secure your personal and credit card information! Whenever you submit personal information on our website, it is encrypted via "Hypertext Transfer Protocol" (HTTP) with "Secure Sockets Layer" (SSL) as it travels to and from our servers. In addition, we do not store your credit card information or share your personal information with anybody.

Your information is only used to generate your certificate of completion for the Texas Courts.

About the Course

How soon can I start the Texas Defensive Driving course?

You will have immediate access to your online course once you complete registration and payment. However, you must ensure you have paid your fines to the court and have permission from the court to attend traffic school before registering and taking the course. Also, you must complete the course before the due date provided to you by the court.

How long does it take to complete the Texas Driving Safety course?

The Driving Safety course will take approximately 6 hours to complete. Texas state law requires all Driving Safety courses to have 6 hours of instruction, regardless of the number of units or chapters.

But Highway Traffic School has designed the course so you can start and stop as often as you like. There are no limits on how many times you can log in and out. Our system will remember where you left off, so you can take the course at your own pace. There is no need to complete the course all at once unless you want to.

And you can enjoy taking our course on any internet-ready device from your computer, laptop, or smartphone.

What if I need more time to complete the Texas Defensive Driving Course?

If you haven't finished your traffic school course yet, it's not too late. You can contact the court and ask for an extension. This will give you more time to finish the course and provide the court with your certificate.

If your deadline has already passed, contact the court first. Most courts will not accept completions after your deadline has passed.

Will I need to verify my identity?

Yes, all schools are required by law to verify your identity. Highway Traffic School makes it easy, and you don't need to fill out any forms or answer any personal questions. We don't use any third-party databases to collect your personal information.

You will be asked to take a picture of your driver's license before starting the course. Throughout the course, you will be asked to take selfies at random to prove your identity. This is how we make sure you are the one taking the course. You can be assured that your information is 100% secure. We use AI technology that recognizes the face from your driver's license picture and matches it to the selfie you take.

We make the process very simple and user-friendly. You can easily use your smartphone to take your selfie picture even if you are taking your course on your laptop or desktop computer.

Pricing & Payment

How can I pay for the course?

You can pay for the course using Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express credit or debit card with a Visa or MasterCard logo. In addition, we also accept payment via Apple Pay, Google Pay, and PayPal.

What is the total price for the Texas 6-hour Defensive Driving Course?

Our 6-hour Defensive Driving Course is only $25.00. There are no additional charges; you will not see any other hidden fees. Your certificate of completion is included in this price. You may download a free copy of the certificate of your records immediately after completing the course.

There are no added processing fees. Therefore, $25.00 is the final total price.

Texas law requires all traffic schools to charge no less than $25.00 for traffic school.

Completion

Is there a final exam?

No. We've designed our course to be interactive and opted to test your knowledge by giving short 2-question quizzes at the end of each unit instead of a comprehensive final exam. With the unit quizzes, you can take the quizzes an unlimited number of times until you answer both questions correctly. This allows you to retain the information better, provides a better learning experience, and ensures you pass your course. We guarantee that you will pass your Texas Driving Safety course.

Do you send my certificate directly to the court?

No. You must sign your certificate of completion before turning it into the court. The court will not accept it without a signature.

However, we will electronically submit your completion to the Texas TDLR so that the court can verify the validity of your certificate of completion.

How fast will my certificate of completion be processed?

Once you complete your course, your certificate is available immediately for download. We will also email you a copy of your certificate. There is no longer a need to wait. We do not charge extra for this fast service.

It may take 2 to 5 business days before your court can validate your certificate on the Texas TDLR certificate system. You can check to see if your record has been added by selecting "Validate a Driving Safety Certificate" on the Texas TDLR website.

My certification has incorrect information on it. Can I get a new copy with the corrected information?

The certificate will have the information you enter when you complete the course. If you need to change something, please get in touch with our customer service so we can correct it. There is a $10 charge to resubmit your changes to the Texas TDLR and generate a new certificate.

How do I get a duplicate copy of my certificate of completion?

You can download, print, or save a copy of your certificate of completion directly from our website for no additional charge, and it is available immediately once you pass the final exam.

If you need a certified copy of your certificate of completion, you can purchase one from your course history page.

How do I get a copy of my Texas Driver's Record?

You can order an instantly downloadable copy of your Type 3A Driving Record directly from the Texas Department of Public Safety website for just $10.

NEW LOW PRICE
$25.00
No Hidden Fees

INCLUDED:

Secure Express Checkout
FREE Downloadable Certificate
Unlimited FREE Unit Exam Retakes
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
Instant Certificate Processing
Dismiss Your Ticket & Dismiss the Points
Texas TDLR Licensed

License # CP994

Meets TLDR & Court Requirement
Take Your Traffic School Online
On Your Own Time
On Any Internet-Connected Device
Secure Website
Course Details
10 Short, Easy Units
6 Hours - Finish at Your Own Pace
2-Question Unit Quizzes
No Final Exam
Satisfaction Guaranteed

We will make it right if you are not satisfied with our course.