The Florida Drug & Alcohol course known as the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course is one of the requirements needed to get your driver’s permit for those new drivers between 16 and 18 years old. If you are a first-time driver, this is the course you will need to take to meet that requirement. You will also need to take the Class E Written Knowledge Exam, which we also offer. Once you have taken both the TLSAE course and the E Class Knowledge exam, you will be able to obtain your Learner's License from the Florida DHSMV.
The TLSAE course may be required if you have been notified by the Florida DHSMV to take the course to reinstate your driver’s license.
The TLSAE course is a 4-hour online course. It is presented in text with images format. The course will have a final exam which you will need to pass with 80%. There is no need to worry about passing the exam the first time since you can take the exam as many times as needed until you pass without any additional cost.
Please note that the final exam for the TLSAE course it not the same as the Class E Knowledge Exam, which is also required and separate from the TLSAE course.
Once you finish the TLSAE course, we will electronically file your completion with the Florida DHSMV. We will also provide you with a certificate of completion for your records. Before taking the Class E Knowledge Exam, it’s also a good idea to read the Florida Driving Handbook. You can take the Class E Knowledge Exam online, and we offer the written exam for your convenience.