Florida Driver's License Guide

Requirements for Learner's License & Class E License

LEARNER'S LICENSEGRADUATED
DRIVER LICENSE
CLASS E LICENSE
At Least 15 Years Old
First Time Driver
16 to 17 Years Old
With Learner's License
18 Years Old or Older
First Time Driver
Take And Pass The Florida Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Course Online
Required by the State of Florida for all new first time drivers.
TLSAE: $11.98
Take And Pass The Florida Class E Knowledge Exam
Required by the State of Florida for all new first time drivers.
Also known as the Road Rules & Road Signs test.
Exam: $19.98
To help prepare you for this exam, take our Online TLSAE Course and review the Florida Driver License Handbook.
Save Money - Register for TLSAE and Class E Knowledge Exam.
TLSAE + Exam: $31.96
Provide A Signed/Notorized Parental Consent Form
Obtain a copy of the Parental Consent Form.
Provide Proof Of Identity
You will need to provide documents that show proof of your identity, proof of your social security number and proof of your residential address. Please visit the DHSMV website for a list of documents to bring.
Take The Vision Test At A Service Center
Must Hold A Learner's License For At Least One Year
If you are just starting the process and do not have a Learner's License, you must follow the Learner's License check list and hold a Learner's License for 12 months or until 18 years of age, whichever comes first.
Must Have NO Moving Traffic Violation Convictions
Or, you may have only ONE moving traffic violation (within 12 months from the date the Learner's License was issued) if adjudication is withheld. That means you took traffic school to dismiss the violation.
Provide The Certification Of Minor Driving Experience Form
A parent, legal guardian or responsible adult over 21 years old must complete the Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form, certifying the driver has 50 hours of driving experience, including 10 hours of night driving.
Take The Class E Driving Skills Test At A Service Center
The vehicle you are using to take the test must have valid registration, proof of insurance, and pass a basic vehicle inspection to determine that it is safe for the driving test.
Must Be In Compliance With School Attendance
Take And Pass The Florida Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Course Online
Required by the State of Florida for all new first time drivers. If you have a license from another state, you are not required to take the TLSAE course.
TLSAE: $11.98
Take And Pass The Florida Class E Knowledge Exam
Required by the State of Florida for all new first time drivers. You will need to take the Class E Knowledge Exam at a Service Center - it cannot be done online.
Also known as the Road Rules & Road Signs test.
To help prepare you for this exam, take our Online TLSAE Course and review the Florida Driver License Handbook.
Provide Proof Of Identity
You will need to provide documents that show proof of your identity, proof of your social security number and proof of your residential address. Please visit the DHSMV website for a list of documents to bring.
Take The Vision Test At A Service Center

Take The Class E Driving Skills Test At A Service Center
The vehicle you are using to take the test must have valid registration, proof of insurance, and pass a basic vehicle inspection to determine that it is safe for the driving test.
RESTRICTIONS
Must drive during daylight hours for the first three months after license is issued, then no later than 10 p.m.
Must ALWAYS be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years old or older.
16 Years Old: NO driving between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m. (unless driving to or from work OR accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years old or older).
17 Years Old: NO driving between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. (unless driving to or from work OR accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years old or older).
We accept PayPalVisa MasterCard Discover AmexHighway Traffic School BBB Business ReviewSecured & Verified
Send us a Message
Have questions?!? Send us a note. We're here to help.
Contact Info
3667 Glen Avenue
Carlsbad, CA 92010
888-406-1726
support@highwaytrafficschool.com
Register Now