Florida Basic Driver Improvement Customer Service

Support & FAQ's

Customer Support

888-406-1726 (Office)
442-222-8879 (Text)
442-500-3344 (Fax)

Highway Traffic School, LLC

3667 Glen Ave
Carlsbad, CA 92010

Hours of Operation

Mon8am - 10pm PST
Tue8am - 10pm PST
Wed8am - 10pm PST
Thu8am - 10pm PST
Fri8am - 10pm PST
  
Sat10am - 10pm PST
Sun10am - 10pm PST

Most Common Questions

Is your course approved by all courts in Florida?

Not yet. Currently, we are certified and licensed by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to offer our course only in the County of Miami-Dade for Ticket Dismissal/Point Reduction and Court Ordered reasons. If you received a letter from the DHSMV, you can take our course for any county in Florida.

How do I know if I am eligible to attend traffic school?

If you received a ticket for a non-criminal moving violation, and you do not have a commercial driver’s license, you can elect to attend a Basic Driver Improvement course, in lieu of points being added to your driving record.

You may attend a BDI course only once every 12 months, and no more than 5 times during your lifetime.

To check your eligibility, visit: https://services.flhsmv.gov/DLCheck/.

How long does it take to complete the BDI course?

The Basic Driver Improvement course will take approximately 4 hours to complete. Florida state law requires that all BDI courses are a minimum of 4 hours in length.

Don’t forget, you can start and stop as often as you like. Our system will remember where you left off, so you can take the course at your leisure. There is no need to complete the course all at once, unless you want to.

Do you send my certificate directly to the DHSMV?

Yes. We automatically submit your completion report to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles when you pass the final exam. It may take up to 48 hours for the completion to be noted on your driving record.

Please note: We don’t send completions to any court. If this course was taken for a ticket dismissal/point reduction or court ordered, you would need to appear in court and show your certificate of completion to the clerk.

More Frequently Asked Questions

  • General Information
    • Is your course approved by all courts in Florida?

      Not yet. Currently, we are certified and licensed by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to offer our course only in the County of Miami-Dade for Ticket Dismissal/Point Reduction and Court Ordered reasons. If you received a letter from the DHSMV, you can take our course for any county in Florida.

    • Is Basic Driver Improvement the right course for me?

      You should take the Florida BDI course if you got a ticket and want to avoid having the points added to your driving record. If you have a commercial driver's license, you cannot attend a Basic Driver Improvement course.

      Also, if you got a letter from the DHSMV indicating that you need to take a Traffic Collision Avoidance Course, you can attend this Basic Driver Improvement course to satisfy the DHSMV requirement.

    • I was ordered by a Judge to take a BDI course; Is this the right one?

      Maybe. You need to find out from the Judge which course he or she ordered you to take. This course is a 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course. If that’s what the Judge ordered, then you are in the right place!

    • I was ordered by the Florida DHSMV to take a BDI/TCAC course; Is this the right one?

      Yes. The Basic Driver Improvement course and the Traffic Collision Avoidance Course are the same. When you register, select the specific reason for taking the course, so we can accurately report your completion to the DHSMV.

    • What is a Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC)?

      A Traffic Collision Avoidance Course is the same thing as a Basic Driver Improvement course. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles requires that you attend in order to retain a valid driver’s license status, if you:

      • Were involved in a crash, were found at fault, and
        • Someone was transported to the hospital, or
        • Have had two crashes in a two-year period, which resulted in property damage over $500.
      • Passed a stopped school bus
      • Were a participant of highway racing
      • Were a spectator in highway racing
      • Were cited for reckless driving
      • Ran a red light

      When you register, select "DHSMV Ordered," and then select the specific reason for taking our course.

    • If I get stuck, can I get help from a family member or friend?

      No! The Florida DHSMV, as well as the Terms of Use that you must agree to upon registration, require that you, the person who received the ticket or notice from DHSMV, complete all course material and the final exam without the assistance of any other person. If you are having difficulty understanding the course material, or you have a question, please contact one of our friendly representatives for assistance.

    • Is Highway Traffic School entirely online?

      Yes. The course and the final exam are entirely online. You can access the course from any computer or device that has internet connectivity. You can log on and off as often as you please, so you can start and stop your course whenever you like. That way, you take our course at your leisure, instead of spending an entire day sitting in a classroom.

    • What happens if I lose my internet connection while taking the course?

      Nothing! Our system keeps track of your progress and saves it to the server. So even if you lose your internet connection, you can continue right where you left off.

    • Is the Highway Traffic School website secure?

      Yes! Highway Traffic School uses state of the art security technology to make sure your personal and credit card information is secure! Whenever you submit personal information on our website, it is encrypted via “HyperText Transfer Protocol” (HTTP) with “Secure Sockets Layer” (SSL) as it travels to and from our servers. We do not store your credit card information or share your personal data with anybody!

  • About the Course
  • Pricing & Payment
  • Completion
    • Can I review the course material while I am taking the final exam?

      Yes. The final exam is open book.

    • What happens if I don’t pass the final exam?

      Most students pass the final exam the first time. The exam consists of 40 questions and a passing score is 80%. If you don’t pass the final exam the first time, you can retake the final exam as many times as you need to pass. You can always go back and review material during or after the exam.

    • Do you send my certificate directly to the DHSMV?

      Yes. We automatically submit your completion report to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles when you pass the final exam. It may take up to 48 hours for the completion to be noted on your driving record.

      Please note: We don’t send completions to any court. If this course was taken for a ticket dismissal/point reduction or court ordered, you would need to appear in court and show your certificate of completion to the clerk.

    • How fast will my certificate of completion be processed?

      Once you complete your course, your certificate is available immediately. We automatically submit your completion report to the DHSMV when you pass the final exam.

      Please note: It may take up to 48 hours for the completion to be noted on your driving record.

    • How do I get a duplicate copy of my certificate of completion?

      You can always download, print, or save a copy of your certificate of completion directly from our website, for no additional charge, and it is available immediately once you pass the final exam.

      If you need a printed copy of your certificate of completion, you can purchase one during registration or from your course history page.

100% Online - 24/7 Access

Online Traffic School 24/7

Accessible On Any Device

Traffic School On Any Device

Learn At Your Own Pace

Take Traffic School At Your Own Pace
We accept PayPalVisa MasterCard Discover AmexHighway Traffic School BBB Business ReviewSecured & Verified
Send us a Message
Have questions?!? Send us a note. We're here to help.
Contact Info
3667 Glen Avenue
Carlsbad, CA 92010
888-406-1726
support@highwaytrafficschool.com
Register Now