Arizona Approved
Online Traffic School

Dismiss Your Ticket &
Dismiss the Points.

Sign Up
Approved & Certified for all Courts!
Smart Price$19.99
+ Court, State, and Processing Fees
Guarranteed to Pass!!!

The Arizona Defensive Driving course is a great way to reduce traffic ticket fines, avoid having points added to your driving record, prevent your insurance rates from increasing, and keep your driver's license in good standing. The Arizona traffic school course is a state-approved program offered online, so you can take it whenever and wherever it's convenient. Our traffic school course will provide you with up-to-date safety information to improve your driving skills, knowledge of traffic laws, and overall safety on the road. It will also give you a better understanding of traffic laws and regulations in Arizona.

Highway Traffic School's online course is a convenient and affordable way to take your Arizona Defensive Driving course. With self-paced learning, you'll be free to complete this requirement on your schedule in an interactive environment that gives you access 24 hours per day, seven days a week!

The Arizona Defensive Driving course is required by state law to have four hours of instruction. It covers various topics, including defensive driving techniques, traffic laws, and safe driving practices. Our course is only five easy units:

  • Highway Safety
  • The Driver
  • The Vehicle
  • The Roadway
  • Impaired Driving

The best part of our online Arizona Defensive Driving course is that it has no final exam, so you are guaranteed to pass. You just need to get through it. Upon completion of the course, we will electronically submit your completion to the court listed on your ticket. You do not need to appear in court or pay a fine to the court.

By taking an Arizona traffic school course online, you are arming yourself with the knowledge and information needed to be a safe and responsible driver in Arizona. And if you ever need help, we're always available by phone or email!

$19.99
+ Court, State, and Processing Fees
  • Online Course
  • Duration4 hours
  • No Final Exam
  • Units5
  • LanguageEnglish

Share this course:

We've Helped Over 74,263 Drivers!
Fastest Course Allowed by Law — Only 4 Hours
Finish Your Online Course Today
No Hidden Fees
FREE Certificate Download
Electronic Reporting to the Court

Arizona Defensive Driving Online Course

We Are Approved by the State. View Our AZ License.
FAST, Same-Day Account Approval — Usually 10 to 15 Minutes After Document Submission During Business Hours.
Easy 5-Unit Course — SIGN IN & OUT.
Guaranteed to Pass — No Final Exam!
Audio & Video Courses Available.
Points Will Not Be Added to Your License.
We E-File Your Completion With the Court.
Arizona Defensive Driving Traffic School online course
Arizona Defensive Driving
Take this course if:
You received a traffic ticket and want to dismiss/avoid points on your driving record.
You have not taken an Arizona defensive driving course in the past 12 months. Check eligibility.
Your violation is on the list of eligible violations.
You have NOT paid your ticket with the court.
4 hours 5 units
$19.99 $24.99
+ Court, State, & Processing Fees
4.9
Sign Up
Your Total Price
How much does the Arizona Defensive Driving course cost?

You can find your total traffic school cost with our Arizona fee calculator below. In Arizona, all traffic schools are required to collect state and court fees if you decide to attend traffic school to dismiss your ticket. Since each courthouse in the state may have different court fees, you must select the correct court assigned to you and printed on your traffic ticket to get an accurate price. Give it a try below!!!

Total Price Explained in Detail

Description
Price
Course Fee
$19.99
State Fee
$24.00
State Surcharge
$45.00
Court Diversion Fee
$-1.00
Processing Fee
$9.99
Audio Read-Along
$6.99 (Optional Upgrade)
Video Course
$9.99 (Optional Upgrade)
Download Certificate
FREE — No Additional Charge
Course Access Within
Same Day
Check Your Eligibility
Want to know if you're eligible for Arizona Defensive Driving?

Find out if you are eligible by using our FREE eligibility tool below. We will also check your eligibility during registration and again when you submit your documents for approval.

In addition, your violation you want to have dismissed must be on the list of eligible violations.

To check your eligibility, enter all of the following information and click the submit button.

Over 26 Years of Experience

How Does Arizona Defensive Driving Work?

Arizona Defensive Driving Online Experience Teacher
1
Check Your Eligibility
Use our eligibility tool to do an initial check and verify your violation is on the list of eligible violations.
2
Sign Up
Just fill out our Express Checkout registration form.
3
Submit Your Documents
We will guide you through the available methods and processes to get your documents to us.
4
Get Your Certificate
There's no final exam, so you just need to get through the course. Then, download your certificate for your records.
5
Leave the Rest to Us!
We'll send your Certificate of Completion to the court electronically & mail out your court and state fees!
Have Additional Questions? We're Here to Help!

Student Testimonials

Feedback From Our Students

Jessica Maravilla

This user only left a rating.

Jessica Maravilla
a day ago
sohrab oskouee

This user only left a rating.

sohrab oskouee
a day ago
Kevin Rivera

This user only left a rating.

Kevin Rivera
a day ago
Yenisleydis flores

This user only left a rating.

Yenisleydis flores
a day ago
Teresa Bassett

This user only left a rating.

Teresa Bassett
a day ago
SH Jang

This user only left a rating.

SH Jang
3 days ago
Kathy Starr

The laws are explained in easy-to-understand language.

Kathy Starr
4 days ago
Mayelin Gonzalez

This user only left a rating.

Mayelin Gonzalez
4 days ago
watgolf288

This is my first time taking an online Defensive Driving Course. It was easy to understand, was thorough, and I now feel up to date on things that have changed since I first became a drive. I would highly recommend Highway Traffic School.

watgolf288
4 days ago
Dory Edwards

Had to do traffic school and this program was super easy. I paid the $9.99 for the video add-on and it's the best $10 I've spend in a while. I can't recommend that option highly enough. Instead of reading each section and waiting for the timer to run out I cast my laptop it to my TV with an HDMI cable and had it on in the background like I was binge-watching a TV show. So humane!

Dory Edwards
6 days ago
Tyler Ry Maimone

An amazing way to learn the Traffic Rules And Alcohol Abuse Course you need to get a learners drivers license, they have options, to learn through video, and make the information more digestible. You can also learn on your own pace its about 4 hours if learning. After you have to take a exam with 40 questions about the course and its free and has unlimited tries. They also send the certificate immediately to your designated DMV.

Tyler Ry Maimone
7 days ago
Kevin Z

Very happy with overall experience!

Kevin Z
7 days ago
Patricia Bonnifield

I have a lead foot and got a ticket for speeding. I have been driving since the age of 11 and this is my first ticket at the age of almost 82. Although this driving school was expensive, it wasn't as expensive as the ticket. It was easy to take in the convenience of my home, at my leisure. No court appearance! After graduating the course all documents are sent to the court. This shouldn't affect my insurance and I believe won't show up on my record. I learned my lesson. Do the speed limit or just under. I hate going slow but this is life.

Patricia Bonnifield
8 days ago
Sheila Louis

This user only left a rating.

Sheila Louis
9 days ago
Eileen Canfield

This user only left a rating.

Eileen Canfield
9 days ago
Odette Zaya

Easy to use would recommend 👌

Odette Zaya
10 days ago
Dennis Hodge

Very easy to go through. was able to start and stop as needed.

Dennis Hodge
11 days ago
Rico West

This user only left a rating.

Rico West
11 days ago
Randy Flake

This user only left a rating.

Randy Flake
12 days ago
Jarrod Hulgan

This school is very good. The website its easy to manage. Lots of the material is common sense, but I actually learned some things

Jarrod Hulgan
13 days ago

FAQ's

Popular Arizona Traffic School Questions

General Information & Eligibility

How do I sign-up for Arizona traffic school?

You may register for traffic school on our website or call us to sign-up at 1-888-406-1726.

Sign Up

You will need a copy of your ticket and driver's license to complete your registration. Once you have registered and paid, you will receive instructions on how to submit your document. You will also receive an email with these instructions. Most documents are reviewed within 10 to 15 minutes, but same-day approval is guaranteed during regular business hours. We will notify you via email or text once your account is approved.

Once your account is approved, log back in to get started. You may take the course at any time.

How do I know if I qualify for Arizona traffic school?

You can check your eligibility before registering for traffic school by using our eligibility checking tool.

If you have a commercial license, we will double-check your eligibility once we have received your documents for approval. The eligibility checking tool will only check if you have attended traffic school in the past.

Also, if your ticket resulted from a serious injury or fatal collision, you cannot attend a defensive driving school.

If you have additional questions, please call us at 1-888-406-1726.

Can I take the Arizona Defensive Driving course with a commercial driver's license (CDL)?

As of September 1st, 2019, commercial driver's license holders may be eligible to attend traffic school if the CDL driver was driving for non-commercial purposes and the vehicle does not require a commercial license. For example, if the CDL holder was driving a personal car during off-business hours.

How can I get an extension to complete traffic school?

Most courts will grant an extension to complete Arizona traffic school if the request is made before the court/due date. You must write, call, or go to the Clerk of the Court to request an extension. If your court date has passed, you must appear and speak with a judge to request your extension.

Remember, the Arizona Supreme Court requires that you complete the Arizona Defensive Driving course at least seven days before your court date.

I received a ticket in Arizona, but my driver's license is from another state. Can I take the Arizona Defensive Driving course to avoid points being added to my driver's license?

If you have received an Arizona ticket and live out of state, you may be eligible to attend traffic school to dismiss your ticket. As long as you are eligible according to Arizona law, you can take traffic school to dismiss your ticket and avoid it from being reported to the DMV. You also avoid having it reported to the DMV in your home state, keeping your driving record clean. Use our eligibility tool to check if you are eligible.

If you decide not to take traffic school or are not eligible, you must pay the ticket fine to the court. Unfortunately, the ticket will be reported to the DMV in Arizona and your home state. Therefore, depending on the violation, you may be required to fulfill different DMV requirements in your home state.

Getting an out-of-state ticket is more complicated now that states can report violations to out-of-state DMVs. In some cases, it can cause double penalties and having to take care of a ticket in both states. Therefore, ensuring your contact information is updated with the DMV to avoid surprises is essential.

Each state has laws about when to assess points against your driving record. You should check with the state where your driver's license is issued before registering for any course.

How often can I take an Arizona traffic school course?

According to the Arizona Supreme Court, you can only attend an Arizona Defensive Driving course once every 12 months for one violation. Remember, the date used by the court to track your eligibility is the violation date, or, in other words, the day you got the ticket.

If you got a ticket and it only has one violation on it:

  • No court appearance is required.
  • You do not need to pay your fine to the court.
  • Points will not be added to your driving record.
  • Adjudication of guilt is withheld.
  • Safe driver status is maintained.
  • Insurance rates would not increase unless you were involved in a crash where you were found at fault.
Will points be assessed against my driving record if I complete Arizona Traffic School?

No. Points are not added to your driving record when you are eligible and complete the Arizona Defensive Driving course.

Can I still take the Defensive Driving course if my court date is tomorrow?

If you are within seven days of your court date, you must contact the court and request an extension. Arizona requires you to finish your course seven days before the court date. If this is the first extension you have requested, most courts will allow an additional 30- or 45-day extension. Once you have obtained your approved extension, you can register to take the course with that new court/due date or update your account with the new court date.

If you have already obtained an extension in the past and require more time, you will need to contact the court. Remember that additional extensions may be possible after the first extension has been granted, but most courts require extraordinary circumstances. An example of an extraordinary or emergency circumstance may be illness or financial hardship. Ultimately, it will be the court's discretion whether to give you more time.

What is the difference between Defensive Driving School and Traffic Survival School?

The State of Arizona has two different traffic school courses available for drivers. Therefore, when enrolling in a traffic school, knowing which course you must take is essential to avoid wasting time and money.

Defensive Driving Course:

  • 4 hours long.
  • Dismisses your ticket and avoids points on your driving record.
  • Can be taken once every 12 months for selected moving violations.
  • It can be taken either online or in person.
  • You don't pay the ticket with the court.
  • The school collects court and state fees required to dismiss the ticket and submits them to the court and state once you finish the course.
  • Voluntary course.

Traffic Survival School:

  • 8 hours long.
  • Not optional — ADOT mandated.
  • Must be taken to reinstate a suspended license.
  • You accumulated 8 to 12 points on your driving record.
  • You were convicted of a DUI.
  • You were convicted of a red-light violation and have taken DDC within 12 months for any other offense.
  • Class is only offered in person.
  • Highway Traffic School does not offer this course. To see a list of Arizona-approved TSS providers, please visit the AZ ADOT website.
Is the Highway Traffic School Website secure?

Highway Traffic School uses state-of-the-art security technology to secure your personal and credit card information! Whenever you submit personal information on our website, it is encrypted via "Hypertext Transfer Protocol" (HTTP) with "Secure Sockets Layer" (SSL) as it travels to and from our servers. In addition, we do not store your credit card information or share your personal information with anybody.

Your information is only used to report your completion to the court for credit.

About the Course

How soon can I start the Arizona Defensive Driving course?

We will need a copy of your driver's license and a copy of your citation before granting you access to your Arizona traffic school course. Once we receive your documents, we typically approve accounts in minutes, but same-day approval is guaranteed during regular business hours.

For faster approval, please provide clear, legible copies of your documents.

How long does it take to complete the online Arizona Defensive Driving course?

The Arizona traffic school course will take approximately 4 hours to complete. Arizona state law requires all defensive driving courses to be 4 hours long.

The benefit of taking our online course is the ability to stop and start whenever you like — our system will save your work and remember where you left off. There's no need to do the entire course all at once (unless you want to). The ability to pause the course and continue where you left off makes it convenient to work at your own pace.

And you can enjoy taking our course on any internet-ready device from your computer, laptop, or smartphone.

Do I have to complete my course seven days before my court date?

Yes. Arizona law requires you to complete your course at least seven days before your court/due date. If you need more time, you may contact the court shown on your ticket to request an extension. Once you have an approved extension from the court, you must let us know the new court/due date so we can update your account.

I ran out of time, but now I have an extension. How can I reactivate my course?

When you log into your account, click on "Reactivate Course." Then, enter your court-approved extension date. Once updated, your course will be reactivated.

You can also email us your new extension date to support@highwaytrafficschool.com, and we can update and reactivate your course for you.

Pricing & Payment

Why is the price much more than advertised when I attempt to register for my traffic school?

The State of Arizona requires that all defensive driving schools collect specific fees on behalf of the state and the courts.

The fees are as follows:

  • Course Fee: $19.99
  • State Fee: $24 — Mandatory to dismiss a ticket
  • State Surcharge: $45 — Mandatory to dismiss a ticket
  • Court Diversion Fee: varies by court — Mandatory to dismiss a ticket
  • Processing fee: $9.99

There are no hidden fees with Highway Traffic School. We disclose all fees without the need to start the registration process. Use our Arizona price tool to get your total price before registering and paying.

Do I need to pay the ticket fine with the court as well?

If you decide to take an Arizona Defensive Driving course, you DO NOT need to pay any fines to the court. The state and court fees we collect during registration are the only fines/fees you need to pay to dismiss your ticket.

Occasionally, students accidentally pay the fine directly with the court and enroll in an Arizona Defensive Driving course. This can cause your traffic school completion to be rejected. In addition, paying the fine to the court directly indicates that you plead guilty to the violation on your ticket and do not plan to attend traffic school. This will result in points being added to your driving record.

If you decide to attend a traffic school, the school will collect the state and court fees required to dismiss your ticket. These fees may be very close to the amount of the ticket's fine if you would have paid it directly to the court. But, because defensive driving keeps points from being added to your driving record, you will save money in the long run from car insurance premium increases.

If you have paid both the fine with the court and also paid to attend a traffic school, you will need to contact the court as soon as possible to have them refund the payment and guilty plea. Failure to do so will result in the court rejecting your traffic school completion. In most cases, you will need to file a "motion" with the court requesting the refund. A motion is a formal request made to a judge in writing. Please do not continue to take the course until you have approval from the court to refund their payment. Once your motion has been approved, you may continue with your class.

If you have any additional questions on double payment by mistake, you may contact the court printed on your ticket for more information and instructions.

Do you have a coupon code or discount for your traffic school in Arizona?

Unfortunately, in Arizona, a law prohibits traffic schools from giving out coupon codes or discounts for taking traffic school. Therefore, no traffic school in the State of Arizona can incentivize or waive the cost of traffic school by giving out coupons or discounts when taking traffic school in the state.

How can I pay for the course?

You can pay for the course using Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express credit or debit card with a Visa or MasterCard logo. In addition, we also accept payment via Apple Pay and Google Pay.

Completion

Is there a final exam?

Our course does not have a final exam as a requirement to pass. Instead, you will be presented with participation questions throughout the course. You must answer each question correctly before you can proceed with the class. If you answer the multiple-choice question incorrectly, you will have more opportunities to answer it correctly until you do. You are guaranteed to pass!

Do you send my certificate directly to the court?

Yes. We will notify your court electronically of your completion of the Arizona Defensive Driving course. You will not need to appear in court or provide your certificate of completion to the court for the violation you indicated. However, if you have multiple violations on your ticket, you must contact the court and take care of those separately.

How fast will my Certificate of Completion be processed?

Once you finish the course, we will transmit your completion to the court within 24 hours. You will receive an email from us when this has occurred.

Unfortunately, the courts cannot see your completion until the court fees have been received and processed in their system. This is a manual process, so we ask that you wait 2 to 3 weeks before calling the court to check your ticket status. Your obligation is to complete traffic school seven days before your court/due date. The court does not penalize you for processing time, and they will accept the completion date we report to them once they receive the court fees.

If there are ever any problems with your case, please feel free to contact us. We will always work with the court to resolve issues with your on-time completion.

How do I know my ticket has been entirely dismissed?

Once you complete your course in Arizona, we recommend allowing 2 to 3 weeks for the court to process your completion before calling the court to double-check if your ticket has been entirely dismissed.

Unfortunately, the Arizona courts do not communicate with us or you once the ticket has been dismissed. Please note the court will not penalize you for processing time. They will always follow the date stamp we reported to them when you completed the course.

How do I get a duplicate copy of my certificate of completion?

You can download, print, or save a copy of your certificate of completion directly from our website for no additional charge, and it is available immediately once you pass the final exam.

If you need a certified copy of your certificate of completion, you can purchase one from your course history page.

NEW LOW PRICE
$19.99
+ Court, State, & Processing Fees

INCLUDED:

Secure Express Checkout
No Final Exam
FREE Downloadable Certificate
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
Electronic Reporting to the Court
Dismiss Your Ticket & Dismiss the Points
AZ Supreme Court Licensed

Certification Letter

No Final Exam

You are guaranteed to pass!

Meets the Court Requirement
Take Your Traffic School Online
On Your Own Time
On Any Internet-Connected Device
Secure Website
Course Details
5 Easy Units
4 Hours — Finish at Your Own Pace
Practice Quizzes
No Final Exam

You just need to get through the course.

Satisfaction Guaranteed

We will make it right if you are not satisfied with our course.