Florida Approved
Online Drug & Alcohol

Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education
For First-Time Drivers.

Sign Up
Florida DHSMV Licensed.
Smart Price$24.99
Guarranteed to Pass!!!

The Florida Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education course, also known as Florida Drug & Alcohol Course or Florida TLSAE, is a 4-hour state-approved program for those learning to drive. The course helps drivers become familiar with the rules of the road through lectures, video instruction, exercises, and tests.

Highway Traffic School's online course is a convenient and affordable way to take your Florida Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education course. With self-paced learning, you'll be free to complete this requirement on your schedule in an interactive environment that gives you access 24 hours per day, seven days a week!

The Florida TLSAE course is required by state law to have a minimum of four hours of instruction. It covers various topics, including traffic laws, defensive driving techniques, DUI penalties and prevention strategies, alcohol awareness education, pedestrian safety regulations, bicycle safety tips, seatbelt use requirements, and motorcyclist safety tips. Our course is only five easy units:

  • Highway Safety
  • The Driver
  • The Vehicle
  • The Roadway
  • Impaired Driving

Upon completion of the course, we will electronically submit your completion to the Florida DHSMV.

The Florida Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education course focuses primarily on the effects and dangers of alcohol and other drugs on the task of driving. However, it also covers Florida's basic traffic regulations and the importance of following them on the road. With an understanding of these regulations, you can be more aware while driving to help prevent potentially dangerous scenarios like accidents or tickets. Our Florida TLSAE course will give you all the necessary information to ensure you're a safe driver. And if you ever need help, we're always available by phone or email!

$24.99
  • Online Course
  • Duration4 hours
  • Final Exam40 questions
  • Units5
  • LanguageEnglish

Share this course:

We've Helped Over 74,263 Drivers!
Fastest Course Allowed by Law — Only 4 Hours
Finish Your Online Course Today
No Hidden Fees
FREE Certificate Download
Same Day Reporting to DHSMV

Florida TLSAE Online Course

We Are Approved by the State. View Our FL DHSMV License.
Easy 5-Unit Course - SIGN IN & OUT.
Guaranteed to Pass - Unlimited FREE Retakes!
Audio & Video Courses Available.
FREE Downloadable Certificate.
Instant Electronic Reporting to the DHSMV.
Florida Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education TLSAE and License Permint Exam online course
Florida TLSAE + Class E Knowledge Exam
Sign up for this COMBO if you:
Want to get your learner's permit.
Are a first-time driver in Florida.
Are under the age of 18 (adults must take the exam at a local DHSMV office per Florida law).
The TLSAE course and Permit Exam are both required to obtain your driver's permit.
5 hours 5 units + exam
$45.99 $74.98
4.9
Sign up
Florida Drug Alcohol Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education TLSAE online course
Florida Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education
Take this course if you:
Want to get your learner's permit.
Are a first-time driver in Florida (any age).
Need to reinstate your driver's license and received a notice of suspension from the DHSMV for an under-age 21 DUI (Zero Tolerance).
4 hours 5 units
$24.99 $34.99
4.9
Sign up
Florida Class E Knowledge Exam Permit Test online
Florida Class E Knowledge Exam
Take this exam if you:
Want to get your learner's permit.
Are a first-time driver in Florida.
Are under the age of 18 (adults must take the exam at a local DHSMV office per Florida law).
1 hour 50 questions
$29.99 $39.99
4.9
Sign up

Over 26 Years of Experience

How Does Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Work?

Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Online Experience Teacher
1
Sign Up
Just fill out our Express Checkout registration and to get started with your course.
2
Get Your Certificate
Pass your final exam. Then, fill out your personal information to get credit.
3
Leave the Rest to Us!
We'll send your Certificate of Completion to the DHSMV electronically — FREE same-day reporting!
Have Additional Questions? We're Here to Help!

Florida License Guide

Learner's Permit
Teens
At least 15 years old
Pass the Drug & Alcohol Course

Every first time driver must pass the TLSAE Course.

Pass the Permit Test

This is know officially as the written Class E Knowledge Exam.

It would be best to study the Official Florida Driving Handbook before attempting the Class E Knowledge Exam. The TLSAE course alone is not enough to pass your DMV Permit Test.

Also, we offer 50 free questions with your enrollment to help you prepare.

Signed Parental Consent Form

You must present a signed/notarized Parental Consent Form to the DHSMV agent when picking up your learner's permit.

Apply For Your Learner's License

Must be 15 years old.

Pass a Vision and Hearing Test

These tests are conducted in a DHSMV service center. Search for the closest DHSMV office by visiting the office locator from the FL DHSMV website.

Proof of Identity

You must provide documents to prove your identity when picking up your license. Visit the Florida DHSMV What To Bring link for a list of acceptable forms of identity.

You can also find information regarding the REAL ID requirements on the Florida DHSMV website.

Graduated License
Teens
At least 16 years old
Hold a Learner's Permit for one year OR reach age 18

You must complete all Learner's Permit requirements.

Pass the Driving Skills Test

Pass the Class E Driving Skills Test. Visit the FL DHSMV office website for information on how to take the Driving Skills Test. We do not offer this service.

Parent-Supervised In-Car Training

A parent or legal guardian must complete the Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form. They must certify that the driver has at least 50 hours of driving experience, including ten hours of night driving.

You can download a Practice Log Sheet to track and show proof to the DHSMV.

Driver's License
Adults
18 years old & over
Pass the Drug & Alcohol Course

You must take and pass the TLSAE Course online.

Pass the Permit Test

Pass the Class E Knowledge Exam in person at a local DHSMV office. You cannot take it online per Florida rules. Only drivers under 18 years old may take the permit test online with parent supervision.

Pass the Driving Skills Test

Pass the Class E Driving Skills Test. Click here for test options.

Get Your Driver's License

You must provide documents to prove your identity when picking up your license. Visit the Florida DHSMV What To Bring link for a list of acceptable forms of identity.

You can also find information regarding the REAL ID requirements on the Florida DHSMV website.

Student Testimonials

Feedback From Our Students

Jessica Maravilla

This user only left a rating.

Jessica Maravilla
a day ago
sohrab oskouee

This user only left a rating.

sohrab oskouee
a day ago
Kevin Rivera

This user only left a rating.

Kevin Rivera
a day ago
Yenisleydis flores

This user only left a rating.

Yenisleydis flores
a day ago
Teresa Bassett

This user only left a rating.

Teresa Bassett
a day ago
SH Jang

This user only left a rating.

SH Jang
3 days ago
Kathy Starr

The laws are explained in easy-to-understand language.

Kathy Starr
4 days ago
Mayelin Gonzalez

This user only left a rating.

Mayelin Gonzalez
4 days ago
watgolf288

This is my first time taking an online Defensive Driving Course. It was easy to understand, was thorough, and I now feel up to date on things that have changed since I first became a drive. I would highly recommend Highway Traffic School.

watgolf288
4 days ago
Dory Edwards

Had to do traffic school and this program was super easy. I paid the $9.99 for the video add-on and it's the best $10 I've spend in a while. I can't recommend that option highly enough. Instead of reading each section and waiting for the timer to run out I cast my laptop it to my TV with an HDMI cable and had it on in the background like I was binge-watching a TV show. So humane!

Dory Edwards
7 days ago
Tyler Ry Maimone

An amazing way to learn the Traffic Rules And Alcohol Abuse Course you need to get a learners drivers license, they have options, to learn through video, and make the information more digestible. You can also learn on your own pace its about 4 hours if learning. After you have to take a exam with 40 questions about the course and its free and has unlimited tries. They also send the certificate immediately to your designated DMV.

Tyler Ry Maimone
7 days ago
Kevin Z

Very happy with overall experience!

Kevin Z
7 days ago
Patricia Bonnifield

I have a lead foot and got a ticket for speeding. I have been driving since the age of 11 and this is my first ticket at the age of almost 82. Although this driving school was expensive, it wasn't as expensive as the ticket. It was easy to take in the convenience of my home, at my leisure. No court appearance! After graduating the course all documents are sent to the court. This shouldn't affect my insurance and I believe won't show up on my record. I learned my lesson. Do the speed limit or just under. I hate going slow but this is life.

Patricia Bonnifield
8 days ago
Sheila Louis

This user only left a rating.

Sheila Louis
9 days ago
Eileen Canfield

This user only left a rating.

Eileen Canfield
9 days ago
Odette Zaya

Easy to use would recommend 👌

Odette Zaya
10 days ago
Dennis Hodge

Very easy to go through. was able to start and stop as needed.

Dennis Hodge
11 days ago
Rico West

This user only left a rating.

Rico West
12 days ago
Randy Flake

This user only left a rating.

Randy Flake
12 days ago
Jarrod Hulgan

This school is very good. The website its easy to manage. Lots of the material is common sense, but I actually learned some things

Jarrod Hulgan
13 days ago

FAQ's

Popular Florida TLSAE Questions

Does the Florida DHSMV approve your TLSAE course?

Our 4-hour drug and alcohol course is certified and approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). As a result, we are listed as one of the approved providers for the state. See the DHSMV-approved listing of TLSAE course providers website.

Our TLSAE course meets one requirement for obtaining your Florida Learner's License.

See a copy of our Florida DHSMV Certification Letter.

Who must take the Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course?

The State of Florida requires new drivers to take the TLSAE course to get a Learner's License or Class E License. If you have never obtained a driver's license in the past, you will be required to take this course. If you already have a driver's license from another state, taking the TLSAE course is unnecessary – the DHSMV will waive this requirement. However, you must have the old out-of-state license to show proof. You will be forced to take the course if you cannot provide evidence of an out-of-state driver's license.

Check out our Florida License Guide for detailed information on how to get your driver's license.

You will also need to take the Florida TLSAE course if you are under the age of 21 and received a notice of suspension for driving with a blood-alcohol level of .02 to .05. The Florida DHSMV will require you to take this course to reinstate your driver's license.

How long does completing the Florida Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education course take?

The Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education course will take approximately 4 hours to complete. Florida state law requires that all TLSAE courses are a minimum of 4 hours in length.

But Highway Traffic School has designed the course so you can start and stop as often as you like. There are no limits on how many times you can log in and out. Our system will remember where you left off, so you can take the course at your own pace. There is no need to complete the course all at once unless you want to.

And you can enjoy taking our course on any internet-ready device from your computer, laptop, or smartphone.

Can I review the course material while I am taking the final exam?

Yes. The final exam is an open-book test.

What happens if I don't pass the final exam?

Most students pass the final exam the first time. The exam consists of 40 questions, and a passing score is 80% or higher. But, if you don't pass the final exam the first time, you can retake the final exam as many times as you need without paying additional fees for more attempts. So, you can take our course without worry or stress – you'll have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. And you can always review the course material during the exam.

Do you send my certificate directly to the DHSMV?

Yes. When you pass the final exam, we automatically submit your completion report to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. It may take up to 48 hours for the DHSMV to process your completion.

What must I do to get my Learner's License in Florida?

You must be at least 15 to obtain your Florida Driving Permit, also known as a Learner's License. There are six steps to getting you're driving permit:

  • Pass the Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education course (TLSAE)
  • Pass the Class E Knowledge Exam (Permit Test).
  • Have a signed or notarized Parental Consent Form (step-parents may not sign unless they have legally adopted the minor child).
  • Apply for the Learner's license at a local DHSMV office.
  • Pass a vision and hearing test.
  • Provide documents to establish proof of identity, social security number, and residential address.
How do I get a duplicate copy of my certificate of completion?

You can download, print, or save a copy of your certificate of completion directly from our website for no additional charge, and it is available immediately once you pass the final exam.

If you need a certified copy of your certificate of completion, you can purchase one from your course history page.

There is a mistake printed on my certificate of completion. Can you fix it?

Yes, we can make updates to your certificate. However, registering with the correct information is essential to avoid unnecessary delays at the DHSMV office. Double-check your birthday and the spelling of your legal name without any abbreviations. Your name information must match your legal documents. If any of the information does not match exactly, the DHSMV agent will be unable to pull up your completion, causing delays.

Does the TLSAE certificate of completion expire?

No, the certificate of completion for the Florida Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education (Drug & Alcohol) course does not expire. As a new young driver, the State of Florida will allow you to start preparing for your driver's permit at age 14, meaning you can take the course once you are 14. However, you cannot pick up your permit until you are 15 years old.

NEW LOW PRICE
$24.99
No Hidden Fees

INCLUDED:

Secure Express Checkout
FREE Downloadable Certificate
Unlimited FREE Exam Retakes
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
Immediate Reporting to DHSMV
First-Time Drivers & Zero Tolerance
FL DHSMV Licensed

Certification Letter

Open Book Exam

You are guaranteed to pass!

Practice Quizzes

Feel confident by practicing what you've learned.

Secure Website
Course Details
5 Easy Units
4 Hours - Finish at Your Own Pace
Practice Quizzes
40-Question Final Exam

80% to pass — unlimited retakes if needed at no extra cost.

Satisfaction Guaranteed

We will make it right if you are not satisfied with our course.