Florida Approved
Online Basic Driver Improvement

Dismiss Your Ticket and
Dismiss the Points.

Sign Up
Accepted by all Florida courts.
Smart Price$21.99
Guarranteed to Pass!!!

The Florida Basic Driver Improvement course, also known as Florida BDI or Florida Traffic School, is a state-approved program designed to help motorists improve their driving skills, knowledge of traffic laws, and overall safety on the road. This course is typically taken by individuals who have received a traffic ticket or notice from the DHSMV to attend a Florida Traffic School. By completing the Florida BDI, you can avoid having points added to your driving record, prevent your insurance rates from increasing, and keep your driver's license in good standing.

Highway Traffic School's online course is a convenient and affordable way to take your Florida Basic Driver Improvement course. With self-paced learning, you'll be free to complete this requirement on your schedule in an interactive environment that gives you access 24 hours per day, seven days a week!

The Florida BDI course is required by state law to have a minimum of four hours of instruction and covers a range of topics, including defensive driving techniques, traffic laws, and safe driving practices. Our course is only five easy units:

  • Highway Safety
  • The Driver
  • The Vehicle
  • The Roadway
  • Impaired Driving

Upon completion of the course, we will electronically submit your completion to the Florida DHSMV.

Whether you're a seasoned driver or new to the roadways in Florida, the Florida Basic Driver Improvement course is an excellent resource that can help keep you and your passengers safe while on the road. And if you ever need help, we're always available by phone or email!

$21.99
  • Online Course
  • Duration4 hours
  • Final Exam40 questions
  • Units5
  • LanguageEnglish

Share this course:

We've Helped Over 74,263 Drivers!
Fastest Course Allowed by Law — Only 4 Hours
Finish Your Online Course Today
No Hidden Fees
FREE Certificate Download
Same Day Reporting to DHSMV

Florida BDI Online Course

FREE Instant Electronic Reporting.
Easy 5-Unit Course — SIGN IN & OUT.
Guaranteed to Pass — Unlimited FREE Retakes!
We Are Approved by the State. View Our FL DHSMV License.
Points Will Not Be Added to Your License.
We E-File Your Completion With the DHSMV & Court.
Florida Basic Driver Improvement BDI online course
Florida Basic Driver Improvement
Take this course if you:
Have paid your ticket and have elected to attend traffic school with the court.
Received a traffic ticket and want to dismiss/avoid points on your driving record.
Have been ordered by the FL DHSMV to take this course to keep your license in good standing.
Have been told to take a Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC) — it's the same as the BDI course.
4 hours 5 units
$21.99 $29.99
4.9
Sign Up

Over 26 Years of Experience

How Does Basic Driver Improvement Work?

Florida Basic Driver Improvement Online Experience Teacher
1
Pay Your Ticket
Pay the ticket with the court and elect to attend traffic school, by visiting the Florida Clerk's website.
2
Sign Up
Just fill out our Express Checkout registration and take your course.
3
Get Your Certificate
Pass your final exam. Then, fill out your ticket information to get credit.
4
Leave the Rest to Us!
We'll send your Certificate of Completion to the DHSMV and court (for ticket dismissal cases) electronically — FREE same-day reporting!
Have Additional Questions? We're Here to Help!

Student Testimonials

Feedback From Our Students

Jessica Maravilla

This user only left a rating.

Jessica Maravilla
a day ago
sohrab oskouee

This user only left a rating.

sohrab oskouee
a day ago
Kevin Rivera

This user only left a rating.

Kevin Rivera
a day ago
Yenisleydis flores

This user only left a rating.

Yenisleydis flores
a day ago
Teresa Bassett

This user only left a rating.

Teresa Bassett
a day ago
SH Jang

This user only left a rating.

SH Jang
3 days ago
Kathy Starr

The laws are explained in easy-to-understand language.

Kathy Starr
4 days ago
Mayelin Gonzalez

This user only left a rating.

Mayelin Gonzalez
4 days ago
watgolf288

This is my first time taking an online Defensive Driving Course. It was easy to understand, was thorough, and I now feel up to date on things that have changed since I first became a drive. I would highly recommend Highway Traffic School.

watgolf288
4 days ago
Dory Edwards

Had to do traffic school and this program was super easy. I paid the $9.99 for the video add-on and it's the best $10 I've spend in a while. I can't recommend that option highly enough. Instead of reading each section and waiting for the timer to run out I cast my laptop it to my TV with an HDMI cable and had it on in the background like I was binge-watching a TV show. So humane!

Dory Edwards
6 days ago
Tyler Ry Maimone

An amazing way to learn the Traffic Rules And Alcohol Abuse Course you need to get a learners drivers license, they have options, to learn through video, and make the information more digestible. You can also learn on your own pace its about 4 hours if learning. After you have to take a exam with 40 questions about the course and its free and has unlimited tries. They also send the certificate immediately to your designated DMV.

Tyler Ry Maimone
7 days ago
Kevin Z

Very happy with overall experience!

Kevin Z
7 days ago
Patricia Bonnifield

I have a lead foot and got a ticket for speeding. I have been driving since the age of 11 and this is my first ticket at the age of almost 82. Although this driving school was expensive, it wasn't as expensive as the ticket. It was easy to take in the convenience of my home, at my leisure. No court appearance! After graduating the course all documents are sent to the court. This shouldn't affect my insurance and I believe won't show up on my record. I learned my lesson. Do the speed limit or just under. I hate going slow but this is life.

Patricia Bonnifield
8 days ago
Sheila Louis

This user only left a rating.

Sheila Louis
9 days ago
Eileen Canfield

This user only left a rating.

Eileen Canfield
9 days ago
Odette Zaya

Easy to use would recommend 👌

Odette Zaya
10 days ago
Dennis Hodge

Very easy to go through. was able to start and stop as needed.

Dennis Hodge
11 days ago
Rico West

This user only left a rating.

Rico West
11 days ago
Randy Flake

This user only left a rating.

Randy Flake
12 days ago
Jarrod Hulgan

This school is very good. The website its easy to manage. Lots of the material is common sense, but I actually learned some things

Jarrod Hulgan
13 days ago

FAQ's

Popular Florida BDI Questions

General Information & Eligibility

Do all courts in Florida accept your course?

Yes. We are certified and licensed by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to offer our course in all courts for ticket dismissal and court-ordered reasons.

See a copy of our Florida DHSMV Certification Letter.

What is the difference between a Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC) and a Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course?

The Traffic Collision Avoidance Course is the same as the Basic Driver Improvement course.

In Florida, there are specific instances where the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles requires that you attend a Basic Driver Improvement course to retain a valid driver's license status. A BDI course is mandatory if you:

  • Were the driver in a crash, were found at fault, and
    • Someone was transported to the hospital, or
    • Have had two crashes in two years, which resulted in property damage over $500.
  • Passed a stopped school bus.
  • Were a participant in highway racing.
  • Were a spectator of highway racing.
  • Were cited for reckless driving.
  • Ran a red light.

The DHSMV will notify you by mail of this requirement and due date. Traffic violations and accidents that occur outside the State of Florida can also trigger this requirement. When you register, select the specific reason for taking the course so that your completion will be reported to the DHSMV accurately.

How do I know if I am eligible to attend Florida traffic school?

Any person who receives a non-criminal moving violation ticket could elect to attend a Florida Basic Driver Improvement course instead of points being added to their driving record if the violation was not for:

  • Exceeding the speed limit by 30 MPH or more.
  • Carrying a vehicle's certificate of registration while the car is in use.
  • Driving a motor vehicle with expired registration.
  • Driving a motor vehicle with an expired driver's license of six months or less.
  • Driving a motor vehicle without carrying a driver's license.

Commercial driver's license holders or commercial learner's permit holders are not eligible for BDI, regardless of whether they were driving a commercial vehicle. Also, anyone cited while operating a commercial vehicle is not eligible.

You may attend a Florida traffic school course only once every 12 months and no more than five times during your lifetime.

To check your eligibility, visit the Florida DHSMV Eligibility Check website.

Can I take the Basic Driver Improvement course with a commercial driver's license?

No. Suppose you hold a commercial driver's license. In that case, you are not eligible for the Florida Basic Driver Improvement course, regardless of whether you were driving a commercial vehicle or your personal vehicle at the time of the violation.

I received a ticket in Florida, but my driver's license is from another state. Can I take the BDI course to avoid points being added to my driver's license?

Each state has laws about when to assess points against your driving record. You should check with the state where your driver's license is issued before registering for any course. Completing a Florida Basic Driver Improvement course does not guarantee that points will not be added to your driving record in your state.

Is the Highway Traffic School Website secure?

Highway Traffic School uses state-of-the-art security technology to secure your personal and credit card information! Whenever you submit personal information on our website, it is encrypted via "Hypertext Transfer Protocol" (HTTP) with "Secure Sockets Layer" (SSL) as it travels to and from our servers. In addition, we do not store your credit card information or share your personal information with anybody.

Your information is only used to report your completion to the Florida DHSMV or Courts for credit.

About the Course

How often can I take a Basic Driver Improvement course?

According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, you can attend a Basic Driver Improvement course only once every 12 months and no more than five times during a lifetime.

If you got a ticket and elected to attend a BDI course:

  • No court appearance is required.
  • You can save 18% on your traffic citation fine.
  • Points will not be added to your driving record.
  • Adjudication of guilt is withheld.
  • Safe driver status is maintained.
  • Insurance rates would not increase unless you were involved in a crash where you were found at fault.
Will points be assessed against my driving record if I complete Florida BDI?

No. When you are eligible and complete a Basic Driver Improvement course, points are not added to your Florida driving record.

I want to attend a Florida BDI course. What do I need to do?

If you wish to elect Basic Driver Improvement instead of having points added to your driving record:

  • Inform the Clerk of the Court in the county where you received your ticket and pay the civil penalty within 30 days of the violation. You can do this by going to the Florida Clerk's website. Select the "Pay Now" button, then enter your ticket information.
  • You must inform the court, pay your fine, and elect to attend traffic school before registering.
  • Complete your Basic Driver Improvement course within 90 days of paying your civil penalty. This may vary from court to court. If you are unsure, check with the Clerk of the Court where you received your citation.
Is it true that I will save 18% on my traffic citation fine if I elect to attend a Florida Basic Driver Improvement course?

Yes. Starting January 1, 2020, Florida law lets you save 18% on your traffic ticket fine when you complete our approved online traffic school course. View the Florida Statutes here.

The 18% fine reduction is automatically applied when you pay your fine and elect traffic school through the Florida Clerk of the Court's website.

How soon can I start the Basic Driver Improvement course?

You will have immediate access to your online course once you complete registration and payment. However, you must ensure you have paid your fees to the court and have elected to attend traffic school before registering and taking the course. Also, you must complete the course within 90 days of electing traffic school unless otherwise directed by the court.

How long does it take to complete the Florida traffic school course?

The Basic Driver Improvement course will take approximately 4 hours to complete. Florida state law requires that all BDI courses are a minimum of 4 hours in length.

But Highway Traffic School has designed the course so you can start and stop as often as you like. There are no limits on how many times you can log in and out. Our system will remember where you left off, so you can take the course at your own pace. There is no need to complete the course all at once unless you want to.

And you can enjoy taking our course on any internet-ready device from your computer, laptop, or smartphone.

Pricing & Payment

How can I pay for the course?

You can pay for the course using Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express credit or debit card with a Visa or MasterCard logo. In addition, we also accept payment via Apple Pay, Google Pay, and PayPal.

What is the total price for the Florida 4-hour BDI Course?

Our 4-hour BDI Course is only $21.99. There are no additional charges; you will not see any other hidden fees. Your certificate of completion is included in this price. You may download a free copy of the certificate of your records immediately after completing the course.

There are no added processing fees. Therefore, $21.99 is the final total price.

Completion

Can I review the course material while I am taking the final exam?

Yes. The final exam is an open-book test.

What happens if I don't pass the final exam?

Most students pass the final exam the first time. The exam consists of 40 questions, and a passing score is 80%. But, if you don't pass the final exam the first time, you can retake the final exam as many times as you need without paying additional fees for more attempts. So, you can take our course without worry or stress – you'll have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. And you can always review the course material during the exam.

Do you send my certificate directly to the DHSMV?

Yes. When you pass the final exam, we automatically submit your completion report to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. It may take up to 48 hours for the completion to be listed on your driving record.

The DHSMV automatically sends your completion to the court for ticket dismissal cases.

You must appear in court and show your completion certificate to the clerk for court-ordered courses.

How fast will my certificate of completion be processed?

Once you complete your course, your certificate is available immediately. In addition, we automatically submit your completion report to the DHSMV when you pass the final exam.

Please note: It may take up to 48 hours for the completion to be listed on your driving record.

How do I get a duplicate copy of my certificate of completion?

You can download, print, or save a copy of your certificate of completion directly from our website for no additional charge, and it is available immediately once you pass the final exam.

If you need a certified copy of your certificate of completion, you can purchase one from your course history page.

NEW LOW PRICE
$21.99
No Hidden Fees

INCLUDED:

Secure Express Checkout
FREE Downloadable Certificate
Unlimited FREE Exam Retakes
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
Immediate Reporting to DHSMV
Dismiss Your Ticket & Dismiss the Points
FL DHSMV Licensed

Certification Letter

Open Book Exam

You are guaranteed to pass!

Practice Quizzes

Feel confident by practicing what you've learned.

Meets DHSMV & Court Requirement
Take Your Traffic School Online
On Your Own Time
On Any Internet-Connected Device
Secure Website
Course Details
5 Easy Units
4 Hours — Finish at Your Own Pace
Practice Quizzes
40-Question Final Exam

80% to pass — unlimited retakes if needed at no extra cost.

Satisfaction Guaranteed

We will make it right if you are not satisfied with our course.