Our course has been reviewed and approved by the California DMV. Our DMV Licensed Traffic Violator School #E9564. ALL counties and courts accept our course in the State of California. Click here to see our official DMV License certificate. You may also verify the DMV license provider list located on the state DMV website. Click Here to double-check.
If you have a commercial driver's license and you got a traffic ticket while driving a non-commercial vehicle, you may be eligible to take traffic school online. The conviction may still appear on your driving record and count as points. Once you have completed the traffic school online and the court has processed your certificate of completion, you will need to contact the DMV Driver Safety Unit at (619) 657-6452 to have the points cleared from your driving record.
California law only allows a person to attend traffic school once every 18 months. Eligibility is tracked by using the date of the violation. The date you received your last citation. You are responsible for making sure you are eligible to attend traffic school.
You will need to contact your assigned court on your ticket to request an extension.
In California, once you pay your ticket fees/fines AND complete your traffic school on time, the points associated with that ticket will not show up on your driving record.
Yes, you can complete your course on the same day.
Please contact the court that issued you your ticket to verify your eligibility. You can attend traffic school if you:
Yes, Highway Traffic School uses the highest encryption web standards. We also follow ISO 27001 controls with current Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards and audits. We never share your personal information with third-party vendors. Your data is only used with the local court and DMV agency to give you credit for taking our traffic school online.
Once you pay your ticket, the court will give you your due date. The allotted time may be between 30-90 days from when you pay your fines. Please contact the court if you need to confirm your traffic school completion date.
Please contact the court immediately to find out if they can offer you an extension. You can find the court's contact information on your ticket, or you can search for the court's information by visiting http://www.courts.ca.gov/find-my-court.
No, the State of California does not allow you to remove points once they have been applied to your driving record.
You can find your citation, docket, case number on the original ticket you received. You can also find it on the courtesy notice the court mailed you.
The California DMV requires all traffic schools to have 340 minutes (5 hours and 40 minutes) of instruction time and allow 60 minutes for the exam. Our course is self-paced without any timers. However, you must read each slide and take a final exam based on the information from the slides.
No, unless you want to. You can take this course at your own pace. The system will allow you to sign in and out as many times you like. It will keep track of your work.
Once you have successfully passed the final exam, we will electronically submit your certificate of completion to the court. This process can take up to three working days. Depending on the court, they may take several days to a few weeks. If you completed on time, the court will not penalize you for processing time and will honor the date you completed.
In California, you must first pay your fines/fees to the court. The court will advise you if you are eligible to attend traffic school. Once you have paid your fines/fees with the court, the court will give you your traffic school completion date. At that point, you can register for traffic school online.
Yes, there are practice questions throughout the course which will need to be answered correctly before you can continue with each unit.
Yes, the State of California DMV mandates there be a final exam for all traffic schools online. The exam is open book. You can check your answers if needed to referring back to the content if required. You must pass the exam with a 70% or higher score — no more than seven questions wrong to pass. The exam has 25 multiple-choice questions.
It is required by the State of California DMV that the final exam is 25 multiple-choice questions.
The State of California DMV allows a person two attempts to take the final exam. If the person is not able to successfully pass the exam with a 70% or higher score after the second attempt, your account will be deactivated. You will be required to re-register for another course again. Not passing should not be a problem since we do offer the exam as an open book exam for your convenience.
Total cost for our traffic school online is $14.98. We offer additional optional features which are not required but can be added for your convenience. See our registration page for detail and up-to-date options.
The courts in California will charge an administrative fee for attending traffic school. All traffic schools have their course fee, which is separate to the court administrative fee you have paid with the court.
Once you have completed the course and passed the exam, we will submit your completion to the court and the DMV within three business days. We do offer immediate electronic filing if you are running out of time for an additional fee. You will also have the ability to download for FREE a copy of your certificate of completion receipt immediately once you finish your exam.
Once you have completed the course and passed the exam, you will immediately be presented with a copy of your Certificate of Completion Receipt which can be downloaded for FREE. The certificate will be in PDF format and can be saved for your records. If you do not have a printer, we are able to print a copy and mail it to you for a small processing fee.
Even though we transmit the information of your completion electronically, the courts may take 2-3 weeks to process your certificate and close your case. Your obligation is to pay your fines and complete your course before the due date provided by the court. The court will not penalize you for processing time. Also, please ensure all your fines have been paid with the court. Check your documents to make sure all the information you provided to us is correct. If your information is incorrect, please contact us via email, phone, or text to make any necessary corrections.